pinningandme

The best and worst of my pins

Buffalo Chicken Garbage Bread

on September 5, 2012

Sorry, I’ve been missing in action but I am back and with several recipes to tell you about. This one I saw on Pinterest and thought my family might like that. It looks good, I don’t really like buffalo chicken but my husband does so I will give it a try. (If you haven’t figured out yet, I am a picky eater and only LOVE a few things but my husband and kids like to try new things and usually like them so I am willing to make new stuff for their sakes). So here is the recipe:

Buffalo Chicken Garbage Bread                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   2 boneless chicken breasts
1 tsp. olive oil
1 pizza dough (I used store bought and let it sit out for about 20 minutes)
8 oz. of shredded mozzarella cheese (I used part skim)
3 oz. of shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup of Franks Wing Sauce
1/3 cup of ranch or blue cheese dressing

Directions

Cut chicken into cubes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Heat teaspoon of olive oil in skillet and add chicken when hot.  Cook chicken completely and then add 1/4 cup of wing sauce.  Stir to coat chicken and let simmer for a minute or two.  Take chicken off heat and let cool.

Pre-heat oven to 425°F.**

On a well floured surface, spread pizza dough into a long rectangle shape. Add ranch dressing or blue cheese dressing (depending on your preference!) and remaining 1/4 cup of wing sauce.  Spread across the dough.  Add chicken and then top with mozzarella and cheddar cheese.  You can also add a bit more of the wing sauce on top of the cheese if you want it to be a little bit spicier. Roll the dough like a pinwheel until you reach the end.  Make sure to tuck the ends of the dough in so the middle doesn’t ‘ooze’ out when baking.

Spray baking sheet with light coat of non-stick cooking spray.  Place garbage bread on the pan and bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

Let sit for five minutes and cut into and enjoy!

**Some people have commented that they found this cooked too quickly and the inside is raw. All ovens vary and cook differently.  I would highly recommend that the rack you use is in the middle of the oven as opposed to the bottom rack or really high up in the oven where it will brown more quickly.  You could also lower the temperature to 400 degrees, but it may take a little longer to cook!

Review: So this recipe is pretty straight forward and easy. I decided to combine my ranch and 1/4 cup wing sauce in the measuring cup and just put in on the dough that way. Assembly was easy but rolling it up was a pain, maybe I am just not that skilled or something but the dough wanted to stick to me and it was just a pain to roll it. I lowered my over to 400 degrees because I know my oven tends to burn things and have found it I lower the heat with baked things like cookies and dough it doesn’t burn. All said and done, it came out and my husband asked what it was and he said it looks like its name “Garbage” lol. Well we all sat down to eat it and my kids didn’t like it at all and I made something else for them. I ate mine but really I think it takes like it’s name “Garbage” and my husband he said it was okay and he would eat it but not really a keeper. So I made this about a week ago the leftovers are still in the freezer and I’m not sure it anyone will ever eat them.

Rating: 1 star, only because it was easy!

Original recipe from http://emmalinaviolet.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/buffalo-chicken-garbage-bread/

Leave a Reply

